Tags

, , ,

We are currently spending 12 days travelling from our home on the South Coast up to Scotland and back. We started off in our Motorhome from our home in Stubbington up to just south of Birmingham for 2 nights, then on to Conniston Water in the lake district for 3 nights and we are currently on a Caravan Club site south of Stranraer.

I decided I wanted to be able to continue sewing while we are away so brought along my Singer 222k Vera. I bought a bright green cool bag from Lidl’s for just £5.99 for her to travel in, and she fits with plastic containers on one side, and my small cutting mat and rulers on the other protecting her.  I put a large wooden reel of thread on her spool pin and this protects it from the top with some wadding on top of that.

I had to find a safe place for her to travel – and the habitation door foot well has turned out to be the ideal place.

CIMG1742CIMG1744

Once on site she fits really comfortably behind the drivers seat and I can easily reach over to undo and get things out from the passenger seat where I sew from.

CIMG1729She fits wonderfully on our swing out coffee table and I can adjust my passenger seat so I have a really comfortable sewing position.

CIMG1735Yesterday I spent the afternoon piecing some blocks to be used with some I am hopeing to receive from the US in the September block exchange this year.  Dylan the dog was relaxing after his morning swim in the sea and I was relaxing with a glass of wine!

CIMG1738 CIMG1737

I was also able to set up a pressing station, so I could press my seams!  I bought a folding table top ironing board from IKEA for £4.  This also has a hook on it so when travelling it can hang in the cupboard with the rest of the hanging clothes.  When I need to use it I just put it on top of the hob and work surface and use a travelling iron and water spray bottle to press those seams.  Works a treat!

CIMG1736I’m planning to spend some more time tomorrow to finish the blocks, and then start on some hand quilting which I started a few months ago.  With the good weather that’s promised I should be able to sit outside in the sunshine to do that, when we move across to Barnard Castle in Teesdale on Thursday.

Does anyone else take their machines with them when they travel?  Do let me know!

 

 

 

 

