Tags

Recently I’ve been making lots of half square triangles for the Fall TOBE.  This is the Basic Autumn TreadleOn Block Exchange.

This is the last excange this year and means that I have achieved another one of my 2014 goals – to take part in every TreadleOn block exchange.  Next year I will be busy with weddings, trips to Ireland and Garden stream construction, as well as making something with all the blocks I now have, so the plan is to only take part in one or two during the year.

Here are my blocks ready for signing –

CIMG2111I’ve 4 sets of 12 blocks – 2 more than I usually make.  I am planning to combine them with the Mary’s triangle blocks I received last year, and the 4 patch blocks from earlier this year.

I have already created a pattern using EQ7 and worked out that I need 48 Half square triangles, hence the number I am sending so I will get 48 back.

I have spent this afternoon signing them all – it’s amazing how long it actually takes to do that.  As the fabric moves when you try and write on it, I have found it easier to place them on a piece of table protector (as shown in the photo) and write fairly quickly.

I actually made them mostly 8 at a time.  To do this :-

1. Take the unfinished size of your blocks -( mine were 6.5 inches) multiply by 2 and add 1 inch – (making my measurement 14ins)

2.  Cut 2 squares of fabric your calculated size and place right sides together.

3.  Draw a line on each diagonal and across the fabric both ways from half way down one side to half way down the opposite side.

4. Stitch 1/4 inch either side of the 2 diagonal lines only.

5.  Cut on all for lines – the 2 diagonals and the 2 lines from one side to the other.

6.  Square up your triangles to your unfinished size.

You can make these without drawing the lines from side to side as long as you don’t move the fabric.  I like drawing the lines as then I don’t have to worry about it and can cut one side or the other individually.

You can also do a calculation using the finished size of your blocks, (http://www.craftsy.com/blog/2014/01/how-to-make-half-square-triangles/) but I find using the unfinished size as a starting point and squareing up is more accurate.

 

 

 

 

